Laundry

In Vegas, I had a washer and dryer in my apartment.  Having lived in various urban areas, I found it to be quite a luxury.  It was not, however, as luxurious as laundry service.

I was at the Skamania Lodge in Washington state, and I was appalled that it took two days to get my pants cleaned.  Most any hotel would return laundry dropped before 8:00AM am before 5:00PM.  The Mandarin Oriental Tokyo had closets that could be opened form the hallway.  All one had to do was flick a switch, and a few minutes later, anything in the closet would be gone, returned clean as soon as possible.  The Trump Sonesta in Miami even had an overnight service, where anything, even dry cleaning, sent before 5:00PM would be returned at 7:30AM.

So after two years of only utilizing the luxury of a washer and dryer in my apartment as a last resort, my pants are drying on the ledge on my porch.  In an  industrial size stock pot full of hot water, a large wooden spoon, and ‘Toss’ detergent that, as the bottle proudly proclaims, also “does wonders on floors,” I washed my clothes.

I felt like Mrs. Bucket in Willy Wonka.

I even sang a forlorn song looking off into the distance.

“Cheer up Charlie….”

4 Responses to Laundry

  1. Toonx says:

    Joey! Guess what I did my laundry today too. I also can’t believe i missed you phone call. I’m saving the number and gunna go get myself an international calling card on tuesday. What’s the time difference between where you are and where I am? On second thought…i don’t really care if my call interupts something important like sleep. I’m more important!

  2. Jen says:

    I have no pit for you. My first experience doing laundry in Kenya involved being bitten in the ass about 20 times by a turkey (who I’m still convinced was just doing it to amuse himself)

  3. Scrotch says:

    Heart O’ Darkness indeed! Just wait until the herd starts to move again, and you’ll have to fend off klipspringer and oryx with a pointy truncheon whilst wringing your trousers! Zounds!

  4. […] I did laundry, I posted to Feldheim and CHNEPR and watched the most of the movie White Chicks. Here was a film upon which a few weeks ago, I would not have wasted a day with a cold. However, since I was essentially stewing my dirty socks, I decided I hadn’t yet had enough depravity for the day. […]

Leave a comment