Civil Unrest

Yesterday, two local Dinkas were killed in a car accident.

Dinkas are the majority tribe here in southern Sudan. In all honesty, I kept thinking about Space Balls, so it took me a little while to be able to say it out loud without giggling.

The driver of the car was a Kenyan.

The thing is, Sudanese don’t really like Kenyans that much. Kind of how a lot Americans don’t like Mexicans. Except with more AK-47s.

The driver was apparently taken to jail. Or he was shot. We don’t really know. Some people heard gunshots. I was too busy working and listening to some Hard-Fi. I guess the tradition here is that the family has to seek revenge or something like that. Word around the Camp is that the police will let the offender out of jail so the victims’ brother can introduce a bullet to the back of his skull.

But to prevent violence from breaking out at night (or something), the police enacted a 6:00PM to 6:00AM curfew last night. I didn’t think anything of it. I had a few beers, some brick oven pizza, read my book, and passed out. But this morning, while I was awakening to light flooding my tent and the sound of birds in abundant broad-leafed trees, a few of our chefs and servers got beaten by the police on their way to work.

Amazingly these guys still showed up and worked their shift. Problem is, I guess, some more people died cause of the beatings, and that means more revenge. I don’t quite know how this all works, but it seems like it’s just gonna keep going. I’m sure there’s gotta be an end to this sort of thing, but for now, the town is just a mess. I haven’t seen any of it because I’ve been working all day. Not that I’d be allowed to go check it out.

So, then, what does all this mean for me? Not sure, just yet. If the riots make their way toward the camp, I might get evacuated, shot, or even worse: killed.

Kidding! Probably not gonna happen.

Though, I might have to cook tonight since today’s curfew was upped to 3:00 PM and had to send a bunch of people home. We’ve still got a 100 rooms, a restaurant, and a bar to run.

Whatever the case, I will certainly not be driving anywhere ever.

Even hitting a goat is like $300 US just to avoid an ass kicking.

6 Responses to Civil Unrest

  1. abby says:

    You really know how to make us feel like you are safe.

  2. abby says:

    Can’t wait until I’m there after that great post.

  3. Somavilla says:

    Kind of like Gentry’s story from 10th grade…he was in the army in Saudi Arabia and they gave him a really nice Corvette to drive, and on his third day in-country he watched a local unavoidably hit and kill a little kid who ran out into the street. The police dragged the man from his car and beheaded him on the spot.

  4. Hotsauce Dan says:

    The bar is in the camp area, right? So what’s the problem again?
    I’m in bean town right now and will have a wicked awesome local pint in your honor!
    Peace!

  5. Portia says:

    after having read that post more carefully, I’m glad I got that email from you the other day. I thought Haiti was going to be bad… but I think generally I’ll be out of the hot zones. btw – I really like that iPod song tracking thing — I might copy.

  6. crestosssa says:

    Hey

    I was surfing the web and i saw this site, pretty cool.
    Currently im running and adult site:Reachton
    k, just want to say hi :)
    Can i link you from my site? im looking for quality content like yours. If no let me know if i can add u in exchange for a montly fee or something.

Leave a Reply

