Going to the Nairobi Gym

One of the guys who’d driven me about the first week approached me one day a week or two ago and said, “William(s). You have mp3?”

“A few…” I replied. My collection has been closing in on 11,000 for the past few months, but I didn’t want to sound ostentatious.

“You have more than one? Could I borrow one?”

I realized immediately that he was talking about an MP3 player, not my music collection. Now, whilst I am in possession of a shuffle and a 60gig 5G iPod, the latter happens to be one of my more prized possessions. “What’s going on that do you need to borrow it?

“I am driving to Rumbek. It is a 14 hour drive. The truck has no radio.”

I’d rather eat my 60gigger than loan it out, but I couldn’t find a reason not to let him borrow my shuffle. It was falling apart, and new models were just introduced. But it had sentimental value. I let my comrade borrow the 512 mb player, but I had a sinking feeling I’d never see my beloved shuffle again.

– – – –

I had mentioned the luxury of the washer and dryer in my apartment in Vegas, but there was also a little gym with treadmills, ellipticals, a few machines, and free weights. Though nothing compared to some hotel gyms like Vail Cascade and Hammock beach, it was nice to come home and get a work out in every now and then.

I’d only ever used my shuffle for working out and as a back if I forgot to charge my pod the night before.

But I’ve been getting used to running with the full sized.

On Sunday I woke up, walked out my gate, and was surprised to see the Jockey Club bustling with life. Yellow and black balloons lined the car park that actually had cars in it. I discovered later that an antique car show was being held. It was sort of an appetizer event for the races starting october 8th, ushering in the summer.

Yeah, that’s right: my summer is just starting.

When I heard about this car show after the fact, I was disappointed for having missed it. But then I realized I probably wouldn’t have gone to an antique car show in the States, so no big deal. Besides I had plans for the afternoon

But I digress.

I can remember when I lived in NYC I went running once while smoking a cigarette just because I thought I was funny. I knew someone would go home, and say, “Honey, you’ll never believe what I saw today…”

Here, with people milling about my route, I got looks more like, “Why do you need to run?”

My Maasai guards seem to get a kick out of it.

They all probably have cousins who can run marathons barefoot.

So while jogging hasn’t been too difficult, lifting has been a bit of an issue. Weights are really expensive, and traveling around with them would be ludicrous.

So I’ve been improvising:

Nairobi Gym

It’s amazing: the level of depravity I’m willing to share with the world.

The hardest part isn’t curling as much as it’s not hitting yourself in the nuts.

John Basedow, chairs are the real fitness made simple.

– – – –

I still haven’t gotten my shuffle back.

Leave a Reply

